AFL Grand Final 2022: guide | TV Tonight (2023)

AFL Grand Final 2022: guide | TV Tonight (1)

0/5

AFL programming this weekend across Seven, Nine and FOX Footy.

  • Filed under News

Here is TV programming for the AFL Grand Final this weekend:

Seven:

Following Weekend Sunrise this Saturday, Seven’s Grand Final Day coverage will feature:
• Seven’s pre-game coverage from 9.00am AEST will take fans into the annual Grand Final Brunch.
• The 2022 AFL Grand Final Countdown kicks off from 10.30am AEST, where hosts Luke Darcy, Jude Bolton, Jobe Watson and Darcy Moore take viewers inside the Grand Final build-up at the MCG, while football’s leading experts and news-breakers will have all the pre-game analysis and breaking developments covered.
• Kicking off from midday AEST, Seven will take viewers to every moment live at the MCG for the Grand Final Pre-Game Show. Before the premiership decider, fans will enjoy pre-match entertainment headlined by Robbie Williams, while Mike Brady will perform Up There Cazaly. Abbey Gelmi will sit down for a one-on-one interview with Robbie Williams and the last Geelong Premiership Captain, Cameron Ling, chats with Cats skipper Joel Selwood in the lead-up to the big game.
• At halftime, fans will be treated to an array of Australian music performers including G Flip, The Temper Trap featuring Budjerah and Ngaiire, and Goanna with Christine Anu, Emma Donovan, Tasman Keith and William Barton.
• The first-ever AFLW match on AFL Grand Final Day will kick off on 7mate and 7plus from 11.00am AEST, when Richmond take on the Brisbane Lions at Punt Road Oval for AFLW Round Five.
• 2022 AFL Grand Final from 2.00pm AEST. Seven’s unrivalled footy coverage continues on the biggest and best day of the year, bringing viewers every moment live from the MCG.
• Following the game, Seven will deliver every unmissable moment from the Post-Match Presentations at 5.00pm AEST, when the Norm Smith Medallist will be revealed and the winning team receives the 2022 AFL Premiership Cup.
• Seven’s post-game coverage from 6.00pm AEST will be hosted by football’s #1 commentary team, live from the ground at the MCG with the 2022 Premiers for must-see interviews with all the Grand Final’s central figures

On Sunday afternoon, fans will be able to watch an encore presentation of the AFL Grand Final on Channel 7 at 12.00pm in Melbourne and 7mate at 12.00pm in Sydney.

Saturday 24 September

Weekend Sunrise – Grand Final Special
Sydney 7.00am on Channel 7 and 7plus Melbourne 7.00am on Channel 7 and 7plus Brisbane 7.00am on Channel 7 and 7plus Adelaide 6.30am on Channel 7 and 7plus Perth 5.00am on Channel 7 and 7plus

2022 AFL Grand Final Brunch
Sydney 9.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Melbourne 9.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Brisbane 9.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Adelaide 8.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Perth 7.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

2022 AFL Grand Final Countdown
Sydney 10.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus
Melbourne 10.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus
Brisbane 10.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Adelaide 10.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus Perth 8.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus

AFLW Round Five:
Richmond v Brisbane Lions (Punt Road Oval)
Sydney 11.00am live on 7mate and 7plus
Melbourne 11.00am live on 7mate and 7plus
Brisbane 11.00am live on 7mate and 7plus Adelaide 10.30am live on 7mate and 7plus
Perth 9.00am live on 7mate and 7plus

2022 AFL Grand Final Pre-Game
Sydney 12.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Melbourne 12.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Brisbane 12.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus* Adelaide 11.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Perth 10.00am live on Channel 7 and 7plus*

2022 AFL Grand Final: Geelong Cats v Sydney Swans
Sydney 2.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Melbourne 2.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Brisbane 2.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus* Adelaide 1.30am live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Perth 12.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*

(Video) 2022 grand final geelong vs sydney ABC full day broadcast

2021 AFL Grand Final: Post-Game
Sydney 5.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Melbourne 5.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*
Brisbane 5.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus* Adelaide 4.30pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus* Perth 3.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus*

Sunday 25 September

2021 AFL Grand Final: Encore Presentation
Sydney 12.00pm on 7mate
Melbourne 12.00pm on Channel 7

AFLW Round Five:
Adelaide Crows v GWS GIANTS (Norwood Oval)
Sydney: 3.00pm live on 7mate and 7plus
Melbourne: 3.00pm live on Channel 7 and 7plus
Brisbane: 3.00pm live on 7mate and 7plus
Adelaide: 2.30pm live on 7mate and 7plus
Perth: 1.00pm live on 7plus

*Coverage of the AFL Grand Final will be made available on 7plus for select connected TV, set-top-box and gaming console devices, and in full 1080p HD. In addition to this, you can watch the AFL Grand Final live on Seven’s free-to-air broadcast on Channel 7 and 7HD. For more information regarding compatible devices, please visit 7plus.

FOX Footy:

The North Melbourne Breakfast leads into Grand Final Day On Fox which includes the return of Longest Kick at The Yarra. The superstar line-up of 2022 kicks this year includes:

Al Downie (team captain), Collingwood. The new ruck with a big kick.
Chloe Molloy (team captain), Collingwood. A skilled and fierce competitor.
Cameron Zurhaar, North Melbourne. The Tank will aim to launch the Sherrin across the Yarra.
Charlie Curnow, Carlton. The game’s most athletic full-forward and 2022’s Coleman Medallist.
Darcy Fogarty, Adelaide. Coming off his personal best season – a young gun with a booming kick.
Jack Ginnivan, Collingwood. Fan-favourite cult-figure aiming to entertain off the field as well.
James Sicily, Hawthorn. The Hawthorn captain who can do it all.
Sam Draper, Essendon. The Goal of the Year recipient who has already proven his kicking prowess.
Steven May, Melbourne. The game’s premier defender with a big powerful left foot.
Plus more to be announced.

Following the Longest Kick competition, hosts Jason Dunstall and Ben Dixon hand back to Brad Johnson, Cameron Mooney, David King, Garry Lyon, Jonathan Brown, Jordan Lewis, Kath Loughnan, Leigh Montagna, Nathan Buckley, Nick Riewoldt and Sarah Jones and for their pre-game analysis on Grand Final Day On Fox with the AFL-dedicated channel then playing the replay straight after the game.

Nine:

Sunday Sept 25:

Sunday Footy Show
10am Melb / Ade / Per (9GEM Syd / Bris)

Hosted by Tony Jones, The Sunday Footy Show discusses all things AFL with regular panellists Matthew Lloyd, Nathan Brown, Kane Cornes and Damian Barrett.

  • Tagged withAFL, AFL Grand Final

6 Responses


Warning: Attempt to read property "comment_ID" on null in /home/tvtonig/public_html/wp-includes/link-template.php on line 1613

(Video) Live AFL Grand final at Y Bar Padma

  1. Have to agree the adverts were so annoying, discloser though that’s coming from someone who has watched ad-free quarter siren to quarter siren all year (or is that innings siren to innings sirens James Brayshaw). Surely if there end up being more chances to show ads than normal it doesn’t mean you have to, give the fans a break sometimes, build some trust with your audience, no amount of the same Bunnings ad over and over is going to get this 61 year old there.

    I sit here now feeling like I won’t bother watching next year due to the ads, but I probably will as it’s the only choice, and unfortunately will be to at least 2031. Really can’t see why Foxtel/Kayo can’t also be allowed to show the Grand Final along with Seven like they do the other games and finals (especially if it’s still a a 65-35 split dollar wise in Foxtels favour), sure maybe they can only start at the bounce of the ball and not get the rest before the start and after the presentation, but that’s fine.

    Log in to Reply

  2. Apart from Robbie William’s wonderful performance, the commentary was woeful and having to suffer through the poor commentary. It was enough for me to turn the sound off.

    Log in to Reply

  3. And the only winner out of that is Ch 7. Not in their wildest dreams could they have budgeted for 28, 30 sec adverts when a goal was scored…

    Log in to Reply

    1. 31 goals last year & in prime time during a Melbourne lockdown…

      Log in to Reply

  4. Happy AFL Grand Final David and everyone! Go Swans! My favourite Robbie Williams tracks are Rock DJ, Supreme, Millennium, Better Man, Angels and Kids.

    Log in to Reply

    (Video) 2022 AFL Grand Final Geelong Vs Sydney Replay

You must be logged in to post a comment.

FAQs

What TV station is the AFL on tonight? ›

Channel 7 - AFL.com.au.

What TV channel is the AFL Grand Final on? ›

TSN brings Canadians AFL coverage throughout each round of the 2019 Toyota AFL Premiership Season, along with all the action and excitement of the 2019 Toyota AFL Finals Series and 2019 Toyota AFL Grand Final.

What time is the AFL grand final on TV today? ›

THE 2022 Toyota AFL Grand Final between Geelong and Sydney starts at 2.30pm AEST on Saturday, September 24.

Is the grand final on Fox? ›

The 2022 Telstra Women's Premiership Grand Final will be broadcast on Channel 9 and Fox League as well as the 2022 NRL State Championship fixture.

Is the AFL finals on Channel 7? ›

Finals. Fortunately, there are no restrictions on the free-to-air coverage for the 2022 AFL Finals. All games will be shown live and free on the Seven Network, as well as on Foxtel.

Is the AFL grand final on free-to-air? ›

Channel Seven will be playing the game live on its free-to-air channel, and you can also catch it in 720p HD on 7plus.

Is Grand Final on 7plus? ›

Watch 2022 AFL Grand Final Online: Free Streaming & Catch Up TV in Australia | 7plus.

Where can I watch AFL grand final live? ›

Stream on your compatible phone, tablet or computer via the Watch AFL website or dedicated apps. Big games deserve big screens. Watch on your TV using Chromecast, Airplay or the Apple TV app. Download matches and shows to watch offline.

Who is showing the 2022 AFL Grand Final? ›

Media coverage

Per the AFL TV rights, and for the eleventh consecutive year, the Seven Network had exclusive broadcast rights within Australia, with Fox Footy showing replays after the game's conclusion.

What time is AFL on 7 today? ›

How to watch AFL this week
TimeMatchTV
4:45pmSydney Swans vs Collingwood MagpiesChannel 7, Fox Footy

Is the Footy on Channel 7? ›

Channel 7 is Your Home of Footy.

What time does the AFL Grand Final start and finish? ›

The game will also be returning to its traditional afternoon 2:30pm time slot. The 2020 Grand Final hosted in Brisbane, and the 2021 Grand Final in Perth were both twilight matches. The Grand Final will kick off at 2.30pm AEST on Saturday 24th September, 2022.

Is Fox Footy showing the AFL grand final? ›

The AFL Grand Final will be shown live and exclusive on the Seven Network. A full replay will be shown on Kayo following the end of the match. The latest news and build up from 7pm each day on Fox Footy at Kayo. Video Player is loading.

Is the AFL Grand Final live on Foxtel? ›

Watch AFL Grand Final live and on demand

If you want to watch the entire game live, Seven is the only place you will be able to do it. Full replays of the game are available straight after the final whistle on Fox Sports' dedicated AFL channel, Fox Footy (Foxtel / Kayo).

Is the AFL on Fox? ›

The Sports HD channel pack that AFL is a part of is included in the Sports HD, Premium and Platinum Plus bundles.

Is Channel 7 plus free-to-air? ›

7plus: Stream & Watch Channel 7 Online - Free to Air TV, Catch Up or Watch Live.

Why is the AFL Grand Final not on 7plus? ›

A spokesperson for Seven West Media said in a statement the issue was unique to certain platforms. “Just to confirm that Seven only has the rights to broadcast the grand final on Channel 7 and 7plus on connected TVs only,” the spokesperson said.

Where can I watch the AFL grand final 7? ›

The AFL Grand Final is LIVE now on 7plus via select connected TVs. You can also watch the AFL Grand Final live on Seven's free-to-air broadcast on Channel 7 and 7HD. Find out more,' a message on the 7Plus website read.

› afl › news-story ›

The 2021 AFL Grand Final is finally here. Melbourne is playing in its first Grand Final in 21 years, and tonight is trying to break the longest active AFL premi...
Seven is the exclusive home for live coverage of the AFL Grand Final on Saturday night. However, Fox Footy has a Saturday afternoon Grand Final preview.
After experimenting with a night decider during the COVID-19 affected 2020 season, the AFL Grand Final will be held at 7.15pm AEST (5.15 AWST) in 2021. This yea...

What time does the AFL start on Channel 7? ›

How to watch AFL this week
TimeMatchTV
4:45pmSydney Swans vs Collingwood MagpiesChannel 7, Fox Footy

What channel is the footy game on? ›

Channel 7 is Your Home of Footy.

How can I watch AFL live on my TV? ›

Domestic Broadcast Partners
  1. Channel 7.
  2. 7mate.
  3. Fox Footy.
  4. Foxtel.
  5. AFL Live Pass.
  6. Kayo.

Is the AFL on Fox? ›

The Sports HD channel pack that AFL is a part of is included in the Sports HD, Premium and Platinum Plus bundles.

Is the grand final on 7plus? ›

Watch 2022 AFL Grand Final Online: Free Streaming & Catch Up TV in Australia | 7plus.

How can I watch the AFL Grand Final live? ›

Stream on your compatible phone, tablet or computer via the Watch AFL website or dedicated apps. Big games deserve big screens. Watch on your TV using Chromecast, Airplay or the Apple TV app. Download matches and shows to watch offline.

Is the football on 7mate? ›

NFL 2022-23 season on 7mate | TV Tonight.

How can I watch 2022 Grand Final? ›

Channel Seven's streaming service, 7plus, is your main option to live stream the 2022 AFL grand final – though like with the Brownlow Medal, it will only be available on select devices.

Videos

1. John Farnham TRIBUTE by Robbie Williams - You're The Voice 2022
(FreeTheRocks)
2. 20 FUNNIEST AND MOST EMBARRASSING MOMENTS IN SPORTS
(Hyperloop)
3. Carlton vs Richmond - AFL Round 1 2022 - Full Match Replay
(AFL Match Replay)
4. AFL 2022 Finals Promo
(jehsepi)
5. Chris Scott: 'The joy... is off the charts!' | Geelong Cats Grand Final press conference | FOX Footy
(Fox Footy)
6. SNEAKING into The AFL Grand Final
(Misfit Minds)
Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Patricia Veum II

Last Updated: 12/26/2022

Views: 6862

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (64 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Patricia Veum II

Birthday: 1994-12-16

Address: 2064 Little Summit, Goldieton, MS 97651-0862

Phone: +6873952696715

Job: Principal Officer

Hobby: Rafting, Cabaret, Candle making, Jigsaw puzzles, Inline skating, Magic, Graffiti

Introduction: My name is Patricia Veum II, I am a vast, combative, smiling, famous, inexpensive, zealous, sparkling person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.